UN Secretary–General and co-winner of the Nobel Peace Prize, Kailash Satyarthi, among key speakers at WEF 2015

With less than three weeks to go before the World Education Forum (WEF) kicks off in Incheon, Korea 19-22 May, more than 140 ministers from around the world have signed up to work together on an education agenda for the next 15 years.

UNESCO will be leading the way at WEF, in collaboration with six co-conveners,UNDP, UNFPA, UNHCR, UNICEF, UN Women and the World Bank , to build a powerful new education agenda which will transform lives.

Key speakers at WEF will include the Deputy Prime Minister of the Republic of Korea and Education Minister Hwang, Woo-yea; UN Secretary General Ban Ki-Moon; Director General of UNESCO Irina Bokova; Executive Director of UNICEF Anthony Lake; President of the World Bank Jim Yong Kim; Executive Director of UN Women and Under Secretary-General Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka; UN High Commissioner for Refugees António Guterres; Executive Director of UNFPA Dr Babatunde Osotimehin; and the co-winner of the 2014 Nobel Peace Prize, Kailash Satyarthi.

Five State Secretaries will also take the floor for discussions. Ministers and experts at WEF 2015 are expected to agree upon a Framework for Action – this will represent the shared vision of education for the next 15 years and follows the Dakar Framework for Action. The aim will be to mobilize countries and partners to implement the new education agenda, and propose ways for its coordination, financing and monitoring – globally, regionally and nationally – to ensure equal education opportunities for all.

The new education agenda, which is encapsulated in goal number four of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), aims at completing unfinished business from the six Education for All Goals. The proposal includes ensuring broadened access to quality education for all at all levels which is equitable and inclusive, leaving no-one behind, in a lifelong-learning perspective


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *